Skip to Page Content

Don't miss out on your chance to obtain the new SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP designation free of charge!

    March 26, 2015

    SHRM Certification Online Tutorial Pathway

    Business leadership has changed over recent decades.  HR professionals now operate at the core of the global enterprise, ensuring the alignment of policy and practice with organizational strategy.  The new SHRM credentials, the SHRM Certified Professional (SHRM-CP) and the SHRM Senior Certified Professional (SHRM-SCP), reflect the expanding role of today's HR professional.

    Set Yourself Apart

    The SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP professional designations distinguish you from your colleagues, demonstrating your high level of competence, knowledge and skills.  Earning your SHRM certification makes you a more valuable business asset, allowing both you and your organization to stay relevant and up-to-date.

    The Pathway to SHRM Certification

    If you are a current holder of an HR generalist certification* in good standing and you obtained your certification by January 31, 2015, you are eligible for the SHRM Online Tutorial Pathway as a bridge to the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP.  During this process, you will have the opportunity to complete a series of steps - by December 31, 2015 - to obtain your SHRM credential.  (Any professionals who did not obtain a generalist certification by January 31, 2015, will not be eligible for the online tutorial pathway and instead can take the SHRM certification exam during the spring or winter exam window.)

    The core of this process is an online tutorial that provides an overview of the SHRM Competency Model and explores how the competency model supports your professional development.

    Ready to Start the Process?

    It's Easy:

    1. Visit
    2. Create an account and select "Online Tutorial Pathway".
    3. Affirm that you hold a valid HR credential.
    4. Enter current certification details: certification name, issue date and expiration date.
    5. Agree to abide by the SHRM Code of Ethics.
    6. Access and complete the Online Tutorial via the link sent to your e-mail.
    7. Receive your SHRM credential once you complete the pathway process, and begin a three-year recertification cycle.

    You will not lose or have to give up any of your current credentials in order to obtain the new SHRM certification.

    *Eligible HR generalist certification programs include: PHR, SPHR, GPHR, HRBP, HRMP and IPMA-CP.  PHR, SPHR, GPHR, HRBP and HRMP are registered trademarks of the HR Certification Institute and are not SHRM certifications.  SHRM has no rights to the "IPMA" trademark, and IPMA-CP is not a SHRM certification.  Other HR generalist credentials may also qualify based on SHRM's review.  Please email for more information.